top of page

FORM AND MOVEMENT (S1F)

Updated: Oct 18, 2022

Insect

We see various insects in our day to day life but have we ever wondered how their geometry, joints and movements are? In this exercise we were expected to study an insect of our choice and I chose the fire ant.

After drawing about 2-3 sheets of papers filled with fire ants in every corner I got a mere understanding of structure and form of an ant. It's joints and functions were pretty interesting to research about. Also I got to know that generally ants don't bite but they sting

venom into the skin which secretes histamine in our body resulting in itching.

The next step as directed by the faculty was to build a model.



Choosing wood as the material was really a very unconcious decision. But it turned out to be a controllable, comfortable and easy to use material. Carving spheres out of a chunk of wood has become my thing now. I made a model joining four spheres of different sizes together in a specific order. This resulted into a good form.


On the exhibition day, Prajakta in the initial hours didn't like my models much. But in the end she mentioned that it took some while for her to appereciate it. I learned many things from this module. Like handling wood, using all the machineries in the workshop, patience and rejections.




Commentaires


bottom of page