top of page

MECHANICS OF STRUCTURES

Updated: Oct 18, 2022

Description: My house is a brick structure and has a manglorean tiled roofing, studying its structural compositon was my task. Exploded the structure and found out how and which things are placed on each other. Since brick structures do not consist columns and beams it is all left on the foundation and wall which act as load bearing structure holding the structure in a very rigid way.

Learnings: In this course we were supposed to learn the positioning and functionality of skeleton structures. I did learn this and also how the weight of a room is distributed through structural members. By looking at various structures and their builtform I got many ideas which helped me to build my own design.

Learned the significance of columns and beams how they support the whole building. Mathematic behind it is understood and also how columns determine the depth of a beam by looking at my friends structure.

Got a deep knowledge of how a foundation of brick strcututre i.e. step strip foundation is different than that of RCC foundation. Also the roofing was such a complex thing to look at but at the end it was fun how a manglorean tiled roofing is assembled.








Comentarios


bottom of page